Jonathan Edwards CBE receives civic gift

Photo courtesy of the Wenlock Olympian Society (March 2017)

The Mayor of Much Wenlock, Cllr. Herbert Harper presented the President of the Olympian Society with a civic gift at an event  arranged by the Society for Jonathan’s visit to attend the 131st Wenlock Olympian Games Live Arts Festival that took place at The Edge, William Brookes School over the two weekends: 11/12th and 18/19th March 2017.

Civic gift presented to former Town Councillor


The Mayor of Much Wenlock, Cllr. Herbert Harper presents a civic gift to former town councillor, Eric Humphries, at the Annual Town Meeting held on 9 March 2017.  Eric was a member of Much Wenlock Town Council for over 30 years and was Mayor four times in 1987, 1993, 1999, and 2007.  He is still an active member of the Shropshire Association of Local Councils.  Mrs. Humphries was presented with flowers from the Mayor.


Photo courtesy of Suzanne Boulos.




Saturday Craft Market

The Much Wenlock craft market takes place on the following Saturdays in 2017, between 9 am and 4.30 pm, situated in the Corn Exchange, the heart of the High Street.

1st and 15th April

 6th and 20th May

 3rd and 17th June

 1st and 15th July

5th and 19th August

 2nd and 16th September

 7th and 21st October

All of our creative traders bring a wide range of skills including textiles, crocheting, embroidery, felt-making, knitting, woodcraft, papercraft, jewellery …we’ve got it all!

If you would like any further information or wish to book a stall please contact the Town Council.

Telephone: 01952 727509

(or) email: /


B4378 ROAD CLOSURE (30.1.2017)

BT require to access boxes to install new fibre cable as part of the fibre speed rollout, to be able to carry out this safely a road closure will be required.

Street : B4378

Location : Between Bourton and Brockton

Date : 30.01.2017

Duration : 10 Days ( Hopefully completed quicker )

Times : 09:30 to 15:30 daily

A full diversion will be in place whilst the road closure is in position.

Have your say about the new Shropshire Council Bus Strategy

Public transport provides access to essential services, including those more vulnerable and living in rural areas. Shropshire Council is facing considerable challenges and needs to set a strategy which ensures available budgets are spent in line with clearly defined local bus priorities.

Shropshire Council is currently asking for peoples’ views on a new bus strategy. This proposes a number of objectives and priorities which will determine how budgets are allocated across countywide services and provide a robust process for decision making.

Stakeholder questionnaire Shropshire Bus Strategy 2017-21

The strategy can also be viewed at where you will also find a link to a public online survey.

Cllr Simon Jones, Shropshire Council portfolio holder for highways and transport, said:

“The council appreciates fully the vital function that local bus services play within the lives of many Shropshire residents, and in supporting the economy of the county. Whether these services are provided on a fully commercial, or on a contracted and council-subsidised basis, it’s vital that our future bus strategy recognises the opportunities and also the challenges that exist at this time. The new strategy is intended to ensure that Shropshire’s bus network remains relevant to people’s transport needs, and can be provided within the council’s available budgets. I would urge all bus users and stakeholders to respond to this strategy consultation, in order to ensure that the final strategy best reflects the needs of Shropshire’s communities and bus users.”

The public and stakeholder consultation will run until 13 February 2017, and the collated consultation responses will then be reported to cabinet in due course.

Please return your completed questionnaire to:

Shropshire Council

c/o Mouchel Ltd


Abbey Foregate



OR email to:

by Monday 13th February 2017.

Much Wenlock Christmas Fayre


The Mayor of Much Wenlock, Cllr. Herbert Harper, closed this year’s extremely popular Christmas Fayre.  Unfortunately, due to the huge crowds, it was difficult for everyone to hear his closing speech so, for those who missed it, here it is.

“Ladies and gentlemen, girls and boys.  I am sorry to say the time has arrived for the 16th Much Wenlock Christmas Fayre to draw to a close.

What a SUPER Fayre we have enjoyed and that is solely down to the volunteers who work hard throughout the year to ensure this Fayre is such a success and they have been ably assisted today by so many other volunteers.  We thank them all and want them to know their work is very much appreciated.

A great supporter of the Fayre for a number of years has been Martin Wood who is officially the World’s Tallest Town Crier.  For those who  have asked Martin tells me he his is 7 feet tall for those of us more mature students, and 2.1 metres for the younger ones.  Thank you Martin for opening the event early this morning and your loyalty, over many years, to Much Wenlock is greatly appreciated.

Finally, but not least, can WE thank all of you for coming to support this event.  You make this event so vibrant and worthwhile.

Now Martin knows all about records so he is going to lead us with a record cheer for Christmas.

Merry Christmas.”  (A very loud Merry Christmas resounded around the Square.)

“Thank you all so much and have a safe journey home.”

Civic gift presented to stalwart Gerry Bowden

The Mayor of Much Wenlock, Councillor Herbert Harper presented a commemorative plaque to Mr Gerry Bowden in commemoration of his services to the community. Mr Bowden, a patron of the Wenlock Olympian Live Arts and active supporter of the local Much Wenlock Male Voice Choir, has now officially retired from all active services within the community. Mr Bowden recently relinquished his position as co-ordinator of the Wenlock Estates representatives on the Gaskell Recreation Ground Management Committee.

Mr Bowden joined the former Borough of Wenlock council in 1961 and has actively served on Much Wenlock Town Council and also on the former Bridgnorth District Council. From 1961 until today Mr Bowden has assisted in, and participated in, creating activities that many members of the local community will share fond memories of, such as the Wenlock town Olympian Carnivals, the Queen’s Jubilee, and the sequence of Charter Day Fayres. Following Mr Bowden’s retirement, Mr David Gibbon has taken the lead for the Wenlock Estates representatives, he is also chairman of the Gaskell Recreation Ground charity and its Management Committee. Mr Trevor Childs has been accepted to fill the space created by Mr Bowden’s future absence from the Wenlock Estates group.

(The presentation took place on 8 August 2016.)

Photo provided by the Gaskell Recreation Ground Management Committee (copyrighted)