The Annual Mayor Making ceremony was held on Thursday, 2nd May at The Guildhall.  Councillor Graham Edgcumbe-Venning’s term of office as Mayor came to an end and Councillor Bert Harper was elected Mayor for the civic year 2019/20.  Councillor Daniel Thomas was elected Deputy Mayor.  The meeting was attended by over 50 members of the community including present and past Councillors.  The ceremony was followed by a reception at the Priory Hall.

The procession to The Guildhall: Mr Eric Humphries (Mace Bearer), Revd John Cumberland, Cllr Graham Edgcumbe Venning (outgoing Mayor), Mrs Christine Edgcumbe Venning (outgoing Mayoress), Mrs Trudi Barrett (Town Clerk), Cllr Bert Harper (Mayor Elect)

Photo above courtesy of Linda West

Cllr Bert Harper receives the Mayor’s chain

Photo courtesy of Suzanne Boulos

Mayor Bert Harper addresses the meeting

Photo courtesy of Suzanne Boulos

Cllr Daniel Thomas, having been elected Deputy Mayor and received the Deputy Mayor’s badge from the Clerk

Photo courtesy of Suzanne Boulos

The Mayoral party after the ceremony (left to right): Mrs Sara Thomas, Cllr Daniel Thomas (Deputy Mayor), Mr Eric Humphries (Mace Bearer), Cllr Bert Harper (Mayor), Mrs Trudi Barrett (Town Clerk), Cllr Graham Edgcumbe Venning, Mrs Christine Edgcumbe Venning

Photo courtesy of Suzanne Boulos

There are no comments yet.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked (*).

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.